Trip to the Knob 2-18-07 (first post, it's long)

Helmet959

Hi everyone, my names David. This is my first post on this forum. I'm 24 and learned how to ski at Roundtop. Just thought I'd throw that out there.

I made it over to Blue Knob for the first time in my life. What a mountain! From what I had heard, it's best to wait for the big winter storm to hit before planning a quick trip there. So we did just that. I didn't exactly know what to expect terrain wise even though I had studied the trail map extensively. Good variety of runs for my taste and ability.

We hit the slopes around 11 and didn't quit till 8:30 (except for lunch and a couple beers around dinner time to warm us up). The wind chill sunday must have been around 10 degrees by sundown. It was not nearly as crowded as we had expected. I never waited behind more than 10 people to get on any of the slow lifts.

I'm by no means a true expert. I consider an expert to be anyone capable of doing every run on a given mountain. I consider myself a decent one diamond skier. I did everything at Blue Knob except Extrovert, Lower Route 66 because they were double blacks and Shortway which I thought was closed. I loved Stembogen, Deer Run, Jack Rabbit and Lower Expressway. Lower High Hopes was another story! I've been to Canaan Valley, Snowshoe (I've done Cupps Run), Roundtop, Whitetail and Tremblant and this is the only one black I've found to be above my level. Got a little scared even. I was afraid I'd end up tucking on such a narrow run because I had lost control of my speed. About every two or three good turns I would stop. Contemplate my next few turns and go again. It's definitely the most narrow run I've ever done, especially the part past Extrovert and it made me reconsider my tight turning ability. I feel challenged and want to give it another shot without someone who was more nervous about it than me. I wish it was lit so I could have practiced with no one on the run. Oh well.