need help with a snowboard

JFskiDan

i managed to get my nieghbors up to the poconos, and on the snow. twice, last year. they have 2 sons now asking for ski/snowboard equipment for christmas. the skier i can handle, the other one snowboards, so i need figured i would tap into the wealth of knowledge around here for snowboard advice. of course, he wants his own snowboard. so, for a complete beginner, what size board should he be on? he is 5'6", and weighing in at about 110 lbs. Basically i think he would need something comparable to whats in the rental fleet.

i'm a big fan of used equipment for this purchase. is it crazy thinking i could score something on ebay for 50-75 bucks, that would be functional?

money is the object here, i would prefer they spent less on equipment and more on lift tickets.

Renting for the season is an option, i guess, but i think it boils down to him having his own equipment.

keep in mind i know nothing about snowboards, so feel free to give me and education.

The first year my son snowboarded, I got him a seasonal rental from JFBB. I believe most mountains offer this as well as our local ski shop. His rental was clip in bindings which are junk. They probably don't even make them anymore but stay away from them. You can also get seasonal boot rental. Just make sure he tries them on and they feel comfortable. The boots should fit snug and your heel should be secure at the bottom and not ride up. You should also be able to wiggle your toes. If possible get cable laced boots and not tie ones. Cables stay tight longer. The tie kind always seem to get loose faster.

That's just some basic stuff, I'm sure someone else can offer more info.