Young'en Procedure

ThinkSnow

If anyone has brought young children to blue, I have a couple questions on their procedures. (maybe applicable everywhere... I'm new to this kid stuff :) )

On Blue's site it says that children under 6 are free when accompanied by an adult, are they going to give me a problem because I have a season pass, or do they mean a "paying" adult.

Even tho they're free, do they need some type of lift ticket to get on the mountain?

Any knowledge is appreciated, as I'm trying to get my 4 and a half year old nephew on skis this year and want to know what I'm in for from the mountain.

i worked ticket check/security before they usually just print a blank pass for the child just like a regualy lift ticket and if its not busy the girls in the ticket office will usually make a funny drawing on it.. and thats their pass for the day

[aying/season pass is the same thing mainly.. they shouldnt give u any problems

yup you need to go to the window. i would suggest putting him in the explorers program if you want him to take a lesson. i worked there last year, and its amazing how quickly some kids can pick up skiing when taught the right way. i'm not saying you dont know what your doing when it comes to teaching someone to ski, but you said you are unfamiliar with takign a kid skiing, and kids need to be taught differently than adults. it will also give you some time to go cruise around while your nephew learns how to ski with other kids his own age.

Justo,

It is true, I am not familiar with teaching kids to ski, but I have heard that most of the programs for kids in the poconos act more as a babysitter than a teacher. I do want him to learn, but if they're gonna just hold onto him while I ski, I'd rather keep him. I have a season pass, so I don't mind going up, getting some hot cocoa, skiing for a half hour, getting more cocoa and going home. I got a lot of good pointers from people on this board (there is an old thread somewhere).