I need opinions

Shadows

digital slr's  

2 members have voted

1. 1. should i throw down some cash?

• yes
    • no

im a straight up beginner when it comes to photography, i know what looks good and thats about it. i have the money for a d50, or possibly a d70. its just whether or not i want to (or should) spend it. i want to get more into photography i just dont know what level i want to go to. point and shoot cameras are great, but i still want to get more involved with camera settings, analog flashes and what not. id be happy with some higher level point and shoots like the powershots and such, but im afraid id get bored and master that stuff pretty quickly. i want to be able to document trips/outings/parties and all, yet also be able to take some really great, high quality shots and play around with features of the camera. which is why im looking towards digi slr's.

im taking the workshop thing at bb on january 8th/9th, so i think i might try that out and see what i want to do before i commit to buying something. im getting more and more interested in photography, its just a question of should i spend that much money or not. i have the money, but if i ont spend it, it would be great cause than i would have some money to fall back on if shit gets rough. if i spent it though...id have a sweet camera and still be able to get by (maybe haha)

the worst that could happen is i wouldnt be able to pay for my car insurance so id be without a car...but i have a job, so it really shouldnt be a problem. unless blue closes, than, its a problem when i dont have money.

I've come across the same situation haha. I want to get a digi SLR aswell. I have a 8.1 megapixel Canon powershot right now. Simple point and shoot, but i want better quality, better lenses. The camera for me is gonna have to wait until the summer though.

Id say, do the work shop, see if you really like it, then go from there.