BURTON snowboard weight limits

Robert2

I've been board shopping and I run into this weight range issue.

I'm 5'6" so a board that is 157 comes up to my nose and that's good for me

as a carver but I thought rail and halfpipe riders like a shorter snowboard.

I've been riding 155 boards for the last 2 years and as I go to stores now to buy a new

board I have a sales clerk ask me how much I weigh and they check the chart on the

snowboards and its got these weight ranges:

157 125-175

161 140-190

165 150-200

which raises questions.

Will I break a 157 board because I weigh 225 pounds when dressed for snow because I

weigh 50 pounds more than the board was designed to carry?

Will the board perform extremely bad because I weigh 50 pounds more than the board

was designed to carry?

Will my extra 50 pounds make the board flex wildly and cause loss of control?

Does Burton expect me to buy their 165 because its designed to carry an adult?

A 165 would be taller than me!

I'm not a big fat man.

I'm a little old guy and most of the kids on the hill are taller than me so I just

can't figure how Burton ranges their boards.

• Replies 111
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

R2, weight is the most important factor. Length becomes a bigger factor when you are concerned with float, fitting in trees, or spinning the board. If you are just carving, match the board to your weight so it flexes properly. Modern snowboard construction is such, if you are just carving it would be pretty unlikely for you to break whatever board you get on.

You should really demo boards...what length are your other 3 snowboards??

2 boards I rode the last two years are both SILENCE MRI 155.

I also have a LIQUID RANGE 156. Sort of a backup and loner board.

I never rode the Liquid.

My kids came last year for Boulder Midnight Madness and I lent them gear.

You can never have enough boards in the house when you have 3 kids with spouses who

all snowboard.

Back to me....